Ham-mer Time?

I put a ham to bake earlier tonight – at around 8p.m. It’s now 12:30a.m.

Based on my previous disastrous attempts at cooking recently, I decided to use the timer on the stove – something I’d never used before, because to relive having to scrape burnt pans isn’t something I look forward to.

So I set the timer and sat in front of my comp to kill time.

Contrary to my last culinary blast, about 10 mins ago, I began to wonder why it was the scrumptious smells of baking ham weren’t pervading my senses, so I went to check on it.

The dial was set to 350 and the oven on light was blinking at me furiously. But the oven wasn’t hot.

The ham wasn’t even breaking a sweat.

I took a picture that looks much more sizzly than it does in real life – that’s the Leica magic for you, not my cordon bleu skills.

After prodding and poking the various buttons on the stove, I turned it off completely and started over – as of this typing, the pre-heated beep just sounded, so at least there’s that.

I swear to god, I’m going to give up cooking.

Snap, Crackle, Flop.

3 Responses to “Ham-mer Time?”

  1. Oh man was the ham worth it, as I always tell yuh, yuh cah give up on cooking when yuh food actually tastes good despite the many recent disasters!

  2. I’d say next time, but I doubt there’d be one:)

  3. For heavens sake … buy a precooked ham…. reheat and add some molten sugar/syrup mix…. everyone will love it and u’ll be an instant iron chef….. too funny :0)

Leave a comment